I’m a yogi?

yogi – “one who practices yoga,” from Hindi yogi, from Sanskrit yoga.

IMG_1352

Why has it taken me 40+ years to discover things that have been there all along? Case in point … yoga. Now, I tried yoga once in a class back in the early 90s. I did enjoy it, the one time I did it. But I never really attempted it after that one time. Over the years the thought would come to me from time to time to try it out. And with Wii Fit I tried it a few times, but that seems to concentrate solely on balance. And, honestly, I did go through a long period of legalism in my life in which I thought that yoga (among a plethora of other things) was of the debil. You know, like foosball.

But I have since realized that yoga is a fantastic way to help get my body in shape. I feel fabulous after a session. And I find myself thinking about my posture while I am sitting or standing throughout the day. And it helps me with stiffness and back soreness that I have. And it’s relaxing.

First, let me clear up some things … I do not do yoga to bestow the state of yoga, or divine union, upon the myself. Nor do I believe that I will find liberation from the material world and union of the self with the supreme being or ultimate principle. I don’t believe that I will benefit greatly from an elevation in consciousness and an expansion of awareness through yoga. I do believe, however, that yoga promotes physical well-being. So as far as elevation of consciousness and expansion of awareness of my body & mind, then yes. But elevation of consciousness and expansion of awareness that will bring me spiritual enlightenment … no. Although I am a seeker of truth (as yogis are sometimes called), I find truth in THE Truth … Jesus. He is the only path to God, He is the only path to peace and wholeness. He is the only path to true enlightenment.

No, I use yoga as a form of exercise, stretching, relaxing, aligning. And it really is great. Do I believe that yoga is good way to achieve control of the body and mind? Yes. For me it has been. For me it is a series of postures and breathing exercises practiced to in order to do just that. And boy, do I need to achieve control of my body and mind! But that’s another topic all together!

Anyway, I bought a new yoga mat. Love. So comfy and only $10 at Marshalls:

IMG_1336_1

And I’ve been using my Apple TV to watch videos from Yoga with Adriene. I like her videos quite a bit. She is very thorough in her explanations and challenges me to to really pay attention to my body & mind during the sessions. She has a good selection of free videos and if you live in Austin, TX she teaches classes (so look her up).

I’m off to tackle my day … starting with some yoga. Namaste!

IMG_1370

 

 

2 thoughts on “I’m a yogi?

Leave a Reply

